• Image of Abstract Tribe Unique (ATU) - Mood Pieces CD

Abstract Tribe Unique take you on an out of body experience with their 1998 release, Mood Pieces. This was the lp originally recorded in 1995 for Beastie Boys' Grand Royal label. In a turn from harsher, darker soundscapes, Fat Jack puts forth beats that span from ambient to soul and reggae, creating a sound reminiscent of, yet predating neo-soul. Fat's buddy and hip-hop legend DJ Slip (of Compton's Most Wanted fame) contributed production on a few songs & also mixed the entire lp in his own studio. The sparse instrumentation is the perfect setup for Abstract Rude's trademark precise flow. This Project Blowed legend attacks the beat with calculated ferocity, breaking combos and neckbones along the way. With this record, released 2 years after its target release date, Abstract Tribe Unique presents an experiment in more sensual and sensitive vibes.

1. Fat And Ab Intro
2. Blast Off Into Infinity
3. I'm From A Wicked
4. Zulu Intro
5. Switch The Station
6. Rolling In My Car
7. Rapcha'
8. Ghetto Children Intro
9. 215 Intro
10. Left Hand Side
11. My Experience Is...
12. Ooh I'm A Getcha'
13. Contradictshun
14. Inside Your Eyes
15. Torn
16. Somethin' About This Music
17. Eve Intro
18. We're Serious Outro